Best AHA for Oily Skin: The Ordinary Glycolic Acid 7% toning solution review

As someone who struggles with PIH (post inflammatory hyperpigmentation), a good AHA is essential to my routine (along with SPF and vitamin C). And I’ve read a lot of great reviews on this AHA from The Ordinary. I’ve used their Lactic Acid (with great results), but wanted something stronger to really brighten my complexion.

This toning solution is so incredibly affordable for its size and contains a good mix of beneficial ingredients. I’m glad to say it’s been working great on my oily acne-prone PIH skin!

Claims

  • Improves skin radiance and clarity
  • Improves appearance of skin texture
  • Contains skin soothing ingredients
  • Oil and alcohol free
  • pH 3.5 – 3.7

Ingredients
Aqua (Water), Glycolic Acid, Rosa damascena flower water, Centaurea cyanus flower water, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Water, Propanediol, Glycerin, Triethanolamine, Aminomethyl Propanol, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Tasmannia Lanceolata Fruit/Leaf Extract, Aspartic Acid, Alanine, Glycine, Serine, Valine, Isoleucine, Proline, Threonine, Histidine, Phenylalanine, Glutamic Acid, Arginine, PCA, Sodium PCA, Sodium Lactate, Fructose, Glucose, Sucrose, Urea, Hexyl Nicotinate, Dextrin, Citric Acid, Polysorbate 20, Gellan Gum, Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate, Sodium Chloride, Hexylene Glycol, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol.

 

Application

Housed in a large capped bottle, the slightly yellow/orange liquid dispenses from a narrow twist cap. I shake out about 5 drops on a cotton pad and gently smooth it all over my face. It dries quick and doesn’t leave a residue. It has a very faint, slightly sweet fruit smell which doesn’t linger. I always experience a tingling sensation around my nose and mouth because my skin is extra sensitive in that area. Everywhere else is like a slight warming sensation; overall the pain is bearable. I also like to keep this away from direct sunlight to prevent ingredient degradation. I use this about 3 to 4 times a week; if I use it every day I find my skin becomes too irritated.

Results

I’ve been using this for a month now and I really notice a difference on my PIH (note I also use Alpha Arbutin, Retinol, and Vitamin C). My PIH has definitely faded and it really helps to prevent new ones from darkening when I get breakouts. Usually when I get PIH, the hyperpigmentation is like an almost dark purple; but with my routine it’s more of a golden brown and fades much quicker.

Also, my skin just looks and feels toned and smooth thanks to this AHA more so than their Lactic Acid (LA). Although I can use the LA daily because it’s less irritating. So on days I don’t use this toning solution, I use the LA. Because even though I’ve been using this AHA 7% toning solution for over a month, my skin still tingles/slightly warms up when I use this; the pain is about a 6 (with 10 being extreme burning). For me, using it 3 to 4 times a week and then using LA on off days is the key to my smooth bright skin.

Pros:

  • Effective formula leaves skin glowing
  • Helped to fade my PIH marks
  • Helps my skin look plump, toned, and even
  • Helps smooth dry patches of skin

Cons:

  • Tingling/burning sensation
  • Unable to use it everyday because too irritating

Where to buy:

Leave a comment