Bioderma Spf 50 Milk Review and swatch

Fountain of Youth: Bioderma Photoderm Milk SPF 50+ PPD 42 Review

Kid you not, I have an Excel list of over 25 sunscreens I’m wanting to try. And that’s just sunscreen. Sigh, being a skincare addict means I’m always on the hunt for that Holy Grail.

Well this sunscreen isn’t HG material, but I’ll be keeping this in my rotation. Read on to find out why!

Bioderma Photoderm Milk SPF 50+ PPD 42 Claims:

  • Chemical SPF: Octocrylene: 10%, Bisoctrizole (Tinosorb M): 6%, Avobenzone: 5%, Bemotrizinol (Tinosorb S): 2.5%
  • PPD 42 UVA protection
  • Milky lotion texture
  • Recommended for Normal to Dry Skin
  • No oily film
  • Doesn’t leave white marks
  • Non-comedogenic. Photostable.
  • Paraben Free
  • Water Resistant

Bioderma Photoderm Milk SPF 50+ Ingredients: Medicinal Ingredients: Octocrylene: 10%, Bisoctrizole: 6%, Avobenzone: 5%, Bemotrizinol: 2.5%  Non Medicinal Ingredients: Aqua, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Cyclopentasiloxane, C20-22 Alkyl Phosphate, Glyceryl Stearate, Peg-100 Stearate, C20-22 Alcohols, Decyl Glucoside, Cyclohexasiloxane, Pentylene Glycol, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Xanthan Gum, Chlorphenesin, Disodium Edta, Sodium Hydroxide, Propylene Glycol, Citric Acid, Mannitol, Ectoin, Fructooligosaccharides, Xylitol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Rhamnose, Laminaria Ochroleuca.

 

Application

Packaged in flip cap tube, this milky lotion is quite runny and has great slip. No pilling issues! The silicone formula doesn’t feel suffocating on the skin– I think the use of Cyclopentasiloxane helps to make it feel lightweight. But it is shiny. Like a satin finish. Not greasy though. For example, the difference is: Shiny is how your skin looks when you’ve exfoliated with an AHA liquid. Greasy is like a film of oil. Anyways, setting with powder helps to take care of the shine. The sunscreen takes a while, like 5 minutes, to fully set. Also, I do notice a slight white cast on my NC35 skin, even though it contains no mineral SPF.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Results

So far, the product claims have not held up! It claims to have no white cast but I see a little bit of that signature grey/purple cast on my warm skin tone. But it’s not as bad as a pure mineral SPF. And it claims to have a non-oily finish. Well, it’s not greasy but it does leave a shiny satin finish. With that being said, I’ve played around and paired this over a mattifying moisturizer which helps to make it more of a satin-matte finish.

Also, this works great under makeup. My foundation and concealer lasts all day and I’m not extra greasy than I normally am. Takes a bit of finesse, but I make this SPF work for me by using this routine: Cleanse > BHA > Moisturize > SPF > Makeup > Bake.

I notice after wearing this and then washing my face at the end of the day, my face looks very even and calm. There’s no redness or irritation. I’m glad to report that this powerful chemical SPF has not irritated my skin or eye area because I blend it up pretty close to my lash line!

With that being said, the key reason I bought this is the UVA protection (aka the aging rays. UVB is what makes you burn). PPD 42 is amazing. From my research, I think this is the highest rated UVA sunscreen in the market! This milky lotion truly is the fountain of youth. The UVA protection alone, is reason enough for me to keep repurchasing. It also is readily available at my local Shoppers Drug Mart and often goes on sale.

So I’ll repurchase, but use it more of a backup product that I know will keep me protected and that I can rely on. It would be perfect if it wasn’t shiny and didn’t have a white cast… so I’m going to keep working down that Excel list of SPF’s I want to try lol.

PS: I wanted to mention this works great as a body SPF. It’s not sticky or shiny on the body and has very minimal white cast. I use this almost every single day on my neck.

Pros:

  • Very high UVA protection, PPD 42
  • Feels lightweight and is easy to spread
  • Long wearing and water resistant
  • Layers well with other skincare, no pilling!
  • Layers well under makeup, not super greasy
  • Not irritating on my skin or eye area
  • Fragrance free and alcohol free

Cons:

  • Shiny finish
  • White cast on my NC35 skin
  • Can look cakey over dry areas

Where to Buy:

FTC: not sponsored. Some links may be affiliates; feel free to use them, your support would mean so much!  xoxo – Views

3 thoughts on “Fountain of Youth: Bioderma Photoderm Milk SPF 50+ PPD 42 Review

  1. Great post ! Like yourself, I too am on the hunt for a high PPD sunscreen that is cosmetically elegant – mostly because I love to travel to super sunny locals, and I know I’m doing damage to my skin even with regular sunscreen (currently use Clarins Care Milk Lotion 50+ spray during the summer and Neogen Day-light 50+++ for colder/drier/indoor).

    Hope you continue your reviews on suncreens !

    Like

Leave a comment