The A-Team: The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA review

Summer’s here and I’m worried the UV rays are going to further darken my PIH making them harder to fade. So I did some research and discovered Alpha Arbutin (AA) and its benefits! It’s supposed to help with inhibiting the formation of melanin, therefore help fight against PIH. So this has been added to my A-Team (along with exfoliants, vitamin C, and SPF), but does it help or is this an unnecessary team member?

The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA Claims:

  • Alpha Arbutin reduces the looks of spots and hyper-pigmentation
  • High 2% concentration is supported with Hyaluronic Acid for enhanced delivery
  • Alpha Arbutin is much stronger in effect than Arbutin or Beta Arbutin
  • pH 4.9

The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA Ingredients:
Aqua (Water), Alpha-Arbutin, Polyacrylate Crosspolymer-6, Hydrolyzed Sodium Hyaluronate, Propanediol, PPG-26-Buteth-26, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Lactic Acid, Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate, Ethoxydiglycol, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin.
The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin review
The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin review

Application

The clear gel serum is easy to spread; I find it has good slip and a little goes a long way. When I use too much, I can immediately tell because my moisturizer/other actives will pill on top of it; the trick is to apply a thin layer. Dries down to a tacky finish. I use AA after low PH products like AHA (ph 4) because this AA has a higher pH (5). Order is important so that all the actives can effectively work on the skin and treat my PIH. I use this mainly at night because I’m pressed for time in the morning. My night routine looks something like: cleanse > AHA > Alpha Arbutin > Vitamin C > Moisturize.

The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin review
The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin review

Results

For me, my intention was to add a product to help the good fight against hyperpigmentation. I can’t fully give all the credit to this Alpha Arbutin because currently my A-Team of products goes hard against PIH (BHA, AHA, retinol, vitamin C, and sunscreen). But I will continue to purchase and use this Alpha Arbutin because I feel like it’s a beneficial ingredient to have; as a melanin inhibitor it will prevent hyperpigmentation from severely darkening. I’m prone to getting these dark almost purple brown spots on my NC35 skin, but with all my actives the PIH now darkens to like a golden brown and is MUCH easier to fade.

I want to do everything I can to treat my PIH and it’s great to have Alpha Arbutin 2% on the A-Team to help my skin look brighter and even.

Pros

  • Unique ingredient to fight PIH
  • Helps inhibit the formation of melanin
  • Easy to apply and non-irritating
  • Non greasy and didn’t break me out

Cons

  • Can pill with other skincare

Where to buy

FTC: not sponsored. Some links may be affiliates; feel free to use them, your support would mean so much!  xoxo – Views

Leave a comment