Drugstore brow pencil comparison review

[Beauty Battle] Bright Eyed & Bushy Browed: Kiss Pro Brow granite vs L’Oreal Brow Stylist dark brunette vs NYX Micro Brow taupe review

Whenever I look at someone’s face, one of the things I always notice are brows. I love a bushy, natural, yet groomed brow. So a good brow pencil is important to me; and I’ve got a collection of brow pencils that help me achieve that bright eyed & bushy browed look.

My collection includes: the Kiss Pro Top Brow Fine Precision Brow Pencil – Granite, L’Oreal Brow Stylist Definer – Dark Brunette, and NYX Professional Makeup Micro Brow Pencil – Taupe. Each of these brow pencils have their Pros & Cons, but let’s see which is best.

Claims:

Kiss Pro Top Brow Fine Precision Brow Pencil – Granite, $12.99

  • A fine tip brow pencil that helps create natural hair-like strokes
  • Pencil to powder formula that blends easily
  • High pigmentation allows for easy application
  • Available in 6 shades

L’Oreal Brow Stylist Definer – Dark Brunette, $11.99

  • Mimics natural brow hair by gradual shaping
  • Ultra-fine 0.5mm tip, mechanical pencil and spoolie
  • Waterproof
  • Available in 5 shades

NYX Professional Makeup Micro Brow Pencil – Taupe, $11.99

  • Build full beautiful brows with our ultra-thin pencil.
  • So precise it coats the finest hairs with color for a natural finish
  • Available in 8 shades

Application

Ease of Use: L’Oreal

All three pencils have micro fine tips with a soft spoolie. All spoolies get the job done but I notice the L’Oreal has shorter bristles which makes blending out the brow strokes easier. During application, the L’Oreal feels more creamy/waxy making the others feel almost “dry” in comparison. With packaging, I notice the cap on the NYX that covers the pencil doesn’t click into place as securely as the others. Overall, I prefer L’Oreal the most because of the clear cap on the spoolie; makes it easier to know which side is which. For example, with the Kiss Pro, so many times when I go to do my brows, I uncap the spoolie instead of the pencil.

Colour Pay Off: L’Oreal

The brown/black colors of the Kiss & L’Oreal are nicely pigmented and look natural on my black eyebrows. But I notice L’Oreal takes less effort to draw hair strokes. On my med gold/olive skin (NC30-35), the Kiss Pro in Granite comes off as a cool toned black/brown. The L’Oreal is a nice warm black/brown (although in my photos they basically look black). The NYX comes off as a light brown and is not very pigmented; it takes so many strokes on my brows to get colour pay off. But NYX has many other colors and I think it’s just the Taupe color that is not very pigmented.

Longevity: L’Oreal

The L’Oreal is the longest wearing which is not surprising given it is also waterproof. With the Kiss and NYX, my oily skin kind of breaks down the pigment causing some fading; the colors don’t disappear or anything, they’re just not as pigmented as when initially applied. L’Oreal stays put all day and requires a good makeup remover to take off.

Results

Winner: L’Oreal

Overall, the L’Oreal Brow Stylist Definer – Dark Brunette is my favorite pencil out of the three. It performs better than the other 2 because of its long wear capabilities. And the waterproof formula is a bonus, especially here in rainy Vancouver! Plus, the clear cap on the spoolie allows easier differentiation between the pencil end and spoolie end. PS: it’s also a dupe for the Anastasia Brow Wiz, $27

Where to buy L’Oreal Brow Stylist Definer – Dark Brunette:

FTC: not sponsored. Some links may be affiliates; feel free to use them, your support would mean so much to me!  xoxo – Views

Leave a comment