French Pharmacy Find: Avene Brand Overview

Here in Vancouver we have a lot of great French brands in our drugstores. One of my favorites is Avene, a brand know for sensitive skin friendly products. All their products contain “Avene Thermal Spring Water” that helps to “soothe, soften, and calm the skin”. Avene is all about gentle skincare products and a lot of the packaging comes in sterile tubes that are air-tight allowing them to skip out on using preservatives!

But what drew me into Avene initially was their products catered to dry itchy skin. Unfortunately I suffer from eczema on certain parts of my body; the affected areas are red, dry, and itchy. About a year ago I came across Avene Xeracalm Balm, a moisturizer that has really helped soothe my itchy skin.

I instantly became a fan and have tried a few products since then; here’s a roundup of some of my favorites:

 

Avene Xeracalm A.D. Replenishing Balm

My Holy Grail for dry itchy skin right here. This is what got me into Avene in the first place. The formula is incredibly hydrating without being greasy, sticky, or shiny. I apply this on my body eczema and feel instantly SOOTHED & CALM. The cream is on the thick side, hence “balm”, but I find it spreads on well and keeps my skin very hydrated. I’ve used this on my face too and haven’t had issues. Overall, I love this for the neck down. This contains no fatty alcohols but does have fatty acids. [Ingredients & Shop USA] [Ingredients & Shop CAN]

Avene Cleansing Foam

This soft fluffy foam cleanser does a great job of cleaning my skin without leaving it dry. It’s a very gentle formula but my only complaint is the smell; it’s a sweet perfume clean scent that thankfully doesn’t linger. Those sensitive to scents may not like it. For me, because this gets washed off I’m not too bothered. Overall, it’s a nice basic cleanser in a non-irritating formula minus the fragrance. [Ingredients & Shop USA] [Ingredients & Shop CAN]

Avene Skin Recovery Cream

This is probably one of their more well-known product (along with their Thermal Spray). It’s a staple in a lot of beauty blogger product shelfie’s. It’s a basic but effective formula; the minimal approach means it has a high chance of being tolerated for super sensitive and irritated skin. Even though I have oily skin, it can feel dehydrated so I use this at night – it’s a little bit too dewy for daytime. It’s very soothing & hydrating and I haven’t noticed any increased breakouts from using it. [Ingredients & Shop USA] [Ingredients & Shop CAN]

Avene Tolérance Extrême Emulsion

I enjoyed using the heavier Skin Recovery Cream but wanted something lighter to wear during the day so I bought this. This emulsion has a lotion texture and feels lightweight yet offers the perfect amount of hydration. It doesn’t spread on as well as the recovery cream (this is silicone free) but once massaged in, disappears into the skin and leaves a natural matte finish. Works well under sunscreen & makeup. [Ingredients & Shop USA] [Ingredients & Shop CAN]

Avene Ultra-Light Mineral Lotion SPF 50+

On paper this sounds perfect; SPF50 mineral protection, water resistant, lightweight, non-whitening, & layers well under makeup. Unfortunately it dried patchy with hints of white cast. BUT when I apply makeup over it everything looks fine; so this is a great base. The lotion is very easy to apply and dries to a natural matte finish. [Ingredients & Shop USA] [Ingredients & Shop CAN]

Where to buy:

FTC: not sponsored. Some links may be affiliates; feel free to use them, your support would mean so much!  xoxo – Views

 

Leave a comment